@# Quotes DB     useful, funny, interesting





Google
 
Web www.quotesdb.info
Undernet  |  EFnet  |  Quakenet  |  Freenode  |  Dalnet  |  Ircnet  |  Galaxynet


Comments:

<0> hey all
<0> anyone know if bellsouth blocks incoming email?
<1> google should know
<2> Zerberus, is there something else I have to change other than default_mail_env = in dovecot to change where my mail goes on the filesystem?
<2> I don't want the INBOX to be /var/mail/%u
<1> sendmail does not care for that
<2> default_mail_env = mbox:/home/%u/mbox/:INBOX=/home/%u/.inbox
<2> that's what I put in dovecot and it doesn't work
<1> the is only dovecot information
<1> sendmail/LDA will not care for that configuration file



<2> so I have to change something in sendmail?
<1> the LDA, if you don't use sendmail'
<1> s local mailer
<0> as for using google Zerberus, that was useless
<0> the only thing ive found on there was "change the smtp port", which didnt work for squat
<2> I suppose I could just use procmail to put mail where I wan
<3> any existing way in sendmail or available add ons to reject based on the nameserver host or IP of the MAIL FROM domain being on a blacklist?
<1> use a milter
<1> mimedefang.org - that is highly configurable
<3> i use milters myself but the customer of my nameserver blacklist - a university - is resistant to milters. is there a non-milter way? (I will try to suggest mime-defang to them, thanks.)
<3> In fact they already use spam ******in I guess but so far I cannot even find this ability in spam ******in.
<1> SA just cl***ifies spam
<1> i do not understand what you mean with the nameserver
<3> MAIL FROM: <deals@hotties4you.com>
<3> mta finds out "what nameserver hosts are authoritative for hotties4you.com?"
<1> for that you need a milter
<3> mta compares the list nameserver hosts
<3> to a local file list of bad nameserver hosts (or ips, after resolving the ips for the list of nameserver hosts)
<1> i never found someone having a blacklist of nameservers - just if MX points to bogus addresses like 127.0.0.1
<3> i have a blacklist of nameservers. more pre-emptive than blacklists of throwaway domains.
<1> create your own RBL
<1> then you would not need a helper like a milter
<3> on the RBL end its not standard - it has to take the domain that sent in the query and look up the name server hosts and their ips, then do the comparison. Sure I plan to do that also but for high volume users it seems that a local access file updated via rsync is the way to go.
<4> is there any known problem with TLS SMTP AUTH and a vpn connection?
<4> it works fine when using no vnc but with vnc connection it seems to hang after issuing DATA
<5> anybody alive ?
<6> no.
<5> cool )
<5> zombies around ? )
<5> so my question is - does anybody here use sendmail+dspam ?
<7> hello
<7> I have an account on a machine. When I send emails using "mail", my email apprears as "username@sub.domain.com" .. how can I make it use my real email which is "username@domain.com" ?
<5> edit local-host-namesd
<5> edit local-host-names
<7> isn't there another way of doing it?
<7> cuz editing local-host-name requires root account



<5> virtusertable ?
<7> plus I have another machine, which has only "sub.domain.com" in its local-host-name .. but when I send emails it displays it currectly
<8> Hi
<8> I'm wondering why I'm getting user not found bounces when I have a catch-all in my /etc/mail/virtuser
<8> I'm not sure exactly where to look
<0> hey guys
<0> having a slight problem
<0> since switching to bellsouth, my mail cannot be sent or recieved. Well, i have mail relaying now, so the recieving is fixed. I modified my sendmail to use smart_host mail.bellsouth.net and created the auth file in /etc/mail/auth/client-info, made the hash, etc
<0> but it still does not seem to be working
<0> any way of finding out what the problem is, and a solution for it?
<0> Jan 30 10:46:35 compu-tech sm-msp-queue[9406]: k0U92PpS008174: to=root, ctladdr=
<0> root (0/0), delay=06:44:10, xdelay=00:00:00, mailer=relay, pri=665473, relay=[12
<0> 7.0.0.1], dsn=4.0.0, stat=Deferred: Connection refused by [127.0.0.1]
<0> ack, didnt mean to paste it straight
<0> sorry guys
<9> is it how your log looks like?
<0> yes
<9> i mean, is that how it looks like when your system tries to send mail to bellsouth?
<0> when i send to anyone period
<0> and im using the relay function of smarthost
<9> so why it's trying to connect to 127.0.0.1??
<0> bellsouth blocks in and out on pt 25
<0> i dunno, lol
<9> instead of mail.bellsouth.net
<0> im not sure of that myself :-)
<9> and oh.. to=root, relay=127.0.0.1... eh?
<9> well i remember right to nothing about sendmail (and don't know how it changed in last 10 years) so can't help.. but this is Not Right, and it has nothing to do with bellsouth or your auth file.
<9> (this = relay to 127.0.0.1)
<0> wonder why its trying to relay to myself instead of bellsouth
<0> hey cannonball
<10> good morning
<0> you stay up to date on sendmail by chance?
<10> How so? I'm not running 8.13.5 yet if that's what you're asking.
<11> hey
<11> where does sendmail put its logs for outgoing mail?
<9> it uses your syslog
<9> for all logs
<12> what is "ctladdr"
<13> hi
<13> i can't send an email with html format from mail or mailx
<13> i can't set the mime ... in man mail or man mailx i don't found information
<6> they don't support the notion.


Name:

Comments:

Please enter the result of the sum 63 + 46 (to avoid spam):






Return to #sendmail
or
Go to some related logs:

#css
Realtek ALC850 + debian 64
#perl
install a version of cedega
banshee-helix suse
#gentoo
+mysql 5 +auth +slow
end premature ejacuation
#gentoo
#lisp



Home  |  disclaimer  |  contact  |  submit quotes